Assignment Four Tutor Feedback

I was very pleased with my tutor’s feedback on my Haunted House assignment! It was so far out of my comfort zone, as I had never edited an image to that degree before! Therefore, I had no idea if my image was any good or not! So it made my positive feedback all the more rewarding. Below are a few of my tutor’s comments, and some changes I made in accordance with these.

POSITIVE-

“The technical aspects of the image of the house are good, this allows for the best quality shot possible as it forms the basis of the idea.”  I took care to capture the image in the best possible way- using raw, and the correct exposure settings. This is something I am gaining confidence in, and feel that I can now easily capture an image’s exposure correctly.

“The illustrative style of the image highlights a good degree of creativity and imagination, it reminds me of those old horror film posters from the 1960s! This kind of photography can be quite interesting where you are shooting specific images with a larger piece in mind, the only limit being your own imagination.” Again I was extremely pleased with this comment. Immediately upon seeing the castle I knew that I was going to use it as my haunted house, which I suppose does show imagination.

NEGATIVE-

“There are a couple of points on the windows of the house where we can see the original background, these need cloning out but otherwise I think the final shot blends together well.” I hadn’t noticed this until my tutor pointed it out! I went back to the image and edited these mistakes out by simply painting over them in black. Below is my before and after images;

BEFORE:

6. complete TEXT VERSION SKULL FURTHER CONTRAST and textcopy

AFTER:

windows filled

“I would have straightened the perspective of the house a little using the skew editing option in Photoshop; the right hand side needs to be brought up just a little.” I was aware of this problem- which was caused by the angle at which I captured the image. I followed my tutor’s advice and straightened the image in Photoshop, which I definitely think helped this problem a little. However, due to the fact that the slant was due to the angle I took the image, the castle is now slightly slanted the other way. But I do think that it does look better than the previous version. Below you can see my image before and after straightening;

BEFORE:

windows filled

AFTER:

straightened

“The background is just as important as the shot of the house as you need the two shots to blend together in a certain way, choosing the moonlit night sky works well as it does blend well with the shot of the house and we can see the idea forming. Is the image of the night sky one of yours? (You don’t mention any technical details.) I realise it is a lot easier to borrow images from the internet but you have to mention where the original images come from and who the photographer was. ” I was pleased with my choice of the moonlit sky, and so was happy with this comment. I didn’t take this photo myself, so should have included where the image came from. Therefore, upon this advice, I added this information into my assignment.

Overall I was extremely happy with my tutor’s advice, and feel that this was a strong assignment in which I learnt a great deal about my views and values on photo manipulation.

Below you will find the full version of my tutor feedback:

Overall Comments

Hannah, your research on the ethics of photographic manipulation is good and sets you up well for the production of your final image. I agree with the points that you have raised and you have included a couple of great quotes that sum up what should be the correct approach to manipulation in photojournalism. There are also certain fashion publishing houses that in my opinion take the manipulation of images too far, personally I don’t take these kinds of images too seriously and hopefully neither does anyone else.

Of course the real versus fake debate has been around since the invention of photography when people realized how manipulative photography could be, I think it falls into two categories and the intentions of the photographer, whether to deceive or to enlighten. In certain areas of photography such as photojournalism, any photo manipulation is frowned upon whereas in the contemporary art world it has been used for many years in an expressive context.

Many photographers have embraced the convenience of digital technology, Jeff Wall is a good example; he has used digital technology for a number of years in producing his composite photographs, one image in particular, A Sudden Gust Of Wind (After Hokusai) 1993, contains hundreds of different shots that form a seamless montage, here Wall embraced the digital as it offers a different kind of control and photographic possibilities. If you ever get the chance to see his work in the flesh it is well worth the effort as his images are large scale ones. (The above-mentioned image is 2.3 x 3.7 meters)

I can see how Ben Goose’s work has influenced your own final image and ideas, it is quite surrealist in the style with a distinctive nod to the surrealist painter Rene Magritte, there are also dark gothic elements that are similar to Tim Burton’s film sets. The illustrative style uses conventional photographic perspectives that immediately catch the viewer’s attention and draws them in.

Feedback on assignment

Your research proves to have backed up your work well as your initial approach to the production side of things is clear and concise, the idea is simple and because of this allows the image to

develop along the way. The technical aspects of the image of the house are good, this allows for the best quality shot possible as it forms the basis of the idea. I would have straightened the perspective of the house a little using the skew editing option in Photoshop; the right hand side needs to be brought up just a little.

The background is just as important as the shot of the house as you need the two shots to blend together in a certain way, choosing the moonlit night sky works well as it does blend well with the shot of the house and we can see the idea forming. Is the image of the night sky one of yours? (You don’t mention any technical details.) I realise it is a lot easier to borrow images from the internet but you have to mention where the original images come from and who the photographer was.

The addition of the skull and bats enhance the final image as well as adding movement and an eeriness to the overall spooky atmosphere. There are a couple of points on the windows of the house where we can see the original background, these need cloning out but otherwise I think the final shot blends together well. The illustrative style of the image highlights a good degree of creativity and imagination, it reminds me of those old horror film posters from the 1960s! This kind of photography can be quite interesting where you are shooting specific images with a larger piece in mind, the only limit being your own imagination.

Leave a Reply

