Assignment Three Feedback

I was very happy with my tutor’s feedback for assignment three. In fact- I was over the moon! I worked so hard on this photoshoot, and had really aimed to get a great location and subject for black and white shots, and it definitely paid off.

Below are a few of my tutor’s positive comments and my thoughts on them;

“The third image is an excellent shot, the compositional balance and overall ‘good-feel’ factor of the photograph comes across really well and you cannot help but smile when looking at the image. It also highlights your pre-visualising skills which I think are improving strongly through each assignment, the quality of outcome is high as are your post production skills as you have blended the image together perfectly.” I really liked this image- and do feel that it showed my imagination as I pre-visualised how the finished photo would look upon seeing this little building with an open door. I think the textures convert well to black and white, and I did aim to balance the composition so as not to create any static- therefore the subject is just off centre.

4

“Image 7 is a great image, here we can see the background and setting more clearly, and also the model’s spotty coat stand out well amongst the straight lines of the tree, fence post and the horizon lines. This kind of image would work well in a clothing catalogue as it emphasizes not only the item of clothing itself but also a ‘feel good ‘ factor that comes across in the expression of the model and the location.” I was extremely happy with this feedback. I think that the natural smile on the model’s face creates a really nice relaxed feeling in this image. My tutor saying that this photo would work well in a clothing catalogue was a great comment which I am very pleased with!

19

Below are a few of my tutor’s suggestions of area’s I could have improved in my assignment;

“At first I thought the fifth image was a combination of two separate ones! The composition does work well although the angle of the shot needs to be lower down, taking it from above as you have done means there is a distortion in the models proportions. I think you could have tried several different poses as the actual setting is really interesting and to get the best out of that usually means several variations are needed.” This was one of my favourite shots, so I was glad my tutor liked the setting. I had not noticed that my model looked a little distorted until my tutor pointed it out! I merely thought it was the way she was sitting that looked a little odd. Unfortunately it was at the end of the shoot, and she was getting a little tired- so this was the only pose I could get out of her! In future I will know when working with children to choose a lower angle, and try to tease a few more poses out of them!

11 BW

“The final shot is a variation of the earlier candid one and although the moment has changed the overall image comes across well, the crop is a little tight at the top of the frame, it is always better when shooting to allow more room around the top of the models head as this is something that can be cropped later on in the post-production process.” This is a good tip, which I will definitely aim for in future. It is always better to leave a little extra room, and then crop later- as extra background can be taken away in editing, but never brought back!

13 BW

For further reference, I have copied my tutor’s feedback in full;

Your choice of locations and model are good and there are interesting contrasts between the two that work well, by choosing Lynne’s farm you have picked somewhere that she knows and feels comfortable in the surroundings. The first shot is a great one to start with, the close and fairly tight crop helps to focus all the attention onto Lynne, the background is quite stark and full of high contrast that helps to keep the viewer’s attention onto the model. The monochrome conversion also works well and to be honest if you are shooting with black and white in your mind then the conversion should be fairly straightforward as it is here. One thing when converting to black and white is too make sure you de-saturate the image first and then you can alter the levels or curves to suit.

The second shot shows you have a good understanding of the principles of using the colour sliders to alter the contrast and tones, although if you de-saturate the image there will be no need for this. There are various methods you can use in converting to black and white but by keeping it simple the process is not so difficult. I was a bit unsure of this image at first, I thought maybe the barbed wire was a little distracting as it cuts across the model, one way round this could have been to have Lynne stand on the rock and look over the fence.

The third image is an excellent shot, the compositional balance and overall ‘good-feel’ factor of the photograph comes across really well and you cannot help but smile when looking at the image. It also highlights your pre-visualising skills which I think are improving strongly through each assignment, the quality of outcome is high as are your post production skills as you have blended the image together perfectly. The shot also shows a strong bond between the model and the photographer, this is an area in photography that is often over looked and of course each photographer works in a different way but it is important, in my view, to build up a certain rapport with your model as it can only benefit the actual photographs.

The fourth image is indeed an excellent shot and highlights the fact that the photographer should always be ready to take images in such a candid situation. A lower point of view would have helped show the viewer a little more but this can be difficult when working with small people as you need to be crawling around on your knees! This shot also shows how a simple background can enhance the mood of the shot, black and white photography has the ability to show certain moods and atmospheres a lot better than colour photography so that is always something to bear in mind when thinking about ideas.

At first I thought the fifth image was a combination of two separate ones! The composition does work well although the angle of the shot needs to be lower down, taking it from above as you have done means there is a distortion in the models proportions. I think you could have tried several different poses as the actual setting is really interesting and to get the best out of that usually means several variations are needed.

Image 7 is a great image, here we can see the background and setting more clearly, and also the model’s spotty coat stand out well amongst the straight lines of the tree, fence post and the horizon lines. This kind of image would work well in a clothing catalogue as it emphasizes not only the item of clothing itself but also a ‘feel good ‘ factor that comes across in the expression of the model and the location.

The final shot is a variation of the earlier candid one and although the moment has changed the overall image comes across well, the crop is a little tight at the top of the frame, it is always better when shooting to allow more room around the top of the models head as this is something that can be cropped later on in the post-production process.

Leave a Reply

