Exercise- Correction

Look through your image collection and try to find one containing dust shadows and another with polygon flare. Use Photoshop tools to remove most of the blemishes.

I used the images provided in the Key Resources section of the student website as I would generally edit out dust shadows like this right away.

I did find it rather difficult to know what was a dust spot and what was part of the pattern of the object. I finally decided that it would be wrong to over correct the image and risk removing something that was part of the image. Therefore I removed the blemishes that I had little or no doubt about. Here are the before and after versions;

BEFORE;

exercise-19-dust-shadows

AFTER;

exercise-19-dust-shadows fixed

Below are the steps I followed to correct the dust shadows on this image:

  • Open a copy of the image in Photoshop and view at 100%.
  • Use the spot healing brush to remove any obvious dust shadows. In cases where the tool didn’t work effectively I simply clicked “Undo”, adjusted the brush size and applied again.
  • Repeat this with the brush set to 8px for any smaller marks that were close to detail or at an edge.

I don’t really feel that there are any ethical issues in this type of manipulation as it is only really removing something that shouldn’t be in the image in the first place. I do feel that it is important however that detail isn’t accidentally removed- this is why it must be performed with great care.

I found the lens flare much more difficult to fix. I have never used the clone stamp tool before, so it took me a little practice to get the lens flare removed! Below are the before and after versions;

BEFORE;

exercise-19-flare

AFTER;

exercise-19-flare (2)

Here are the steps I eventually followed which seemed to work a treat!

Open a copy of the image in Photoshop and view at 100%.

  • Click on the clone stamp tool, set the brush to about 30% hardness.
  • I didn’t use clone tool set to colour or darken, as ‘normal’ seemed to work really well for me. I then held down ‘Alt’ whilst clicking on a pattern close to the area I wished to fix.
  • I then slowly moved the brush across each blemished area, continually adjusting the pattern in order to achieve a close copy.

When it comes to removing lens flare, my views personally are that it depends on the degree of the defect. A lens flare may have an artistic feel to it, so if this was the case, I would probably leave it as it is. If it were distracting from a beautiful picture, I would only then consider removing it.

Leave a Reply

